Warren Michelson Will Not Seek Re-Election

Warren Michelson Will Not Seek Re-Election January 21, 2019


Warren Michelson, MLA for Moose Jaw North, announced that he will not be seeking re-election in the 2020 Provincial Election.

“I want to thank the constituents of Moose Jaw North for granting me the privilege of representing them for the past 11 years” said Michelson, “It is with mixed emotions that I make this announcement today.”

“During the 2007 campaign, I stated that my number one priority was better health care facilities for the citizens of Moose Jaw and southern Saskatchewan” said Michelson, “The Dr. F. H. Wigmore Regional Hospital, a new, state of the art facility opened its doors in the fall of 2016, and I am so proud to have been a part of working to improve health care for the people of Moose Jaw and area.”

Michelson was first elected in the 2007 provincial election. Prior to 2007, the constituency of Moose Jaw North had historically been an NDP constituency since 1986. Michelson was successfully re-elected in both the 2011 and 2016 provincial elections; each time increasing the margin between him and his NDP rival. In 2016, he won with over 60% of the vote.

“I have met thousands of my constituents, and have made many friends,” stated Michelson. “I appreciate their overwhelming support; from a narrow victory of 33 votes in 2007, to 1,908 in the last provincial election.  I thank you for your support, and the confidence of growth in our Saskatchewan.”

Warren has served on a variety of committees during as an MLA, including: co-chairing the Saskatchewan Construction Panel, the Red Tape Reduction Committee, Public Accounts, the Committee on the Economy, Chair of the Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice committee, and Legislative Secretary to the Minister of the Economy in regards to Manufacturing in the Province.

“Warren has been a part of the Saskatchewan Party Government since day one,” said Premier Scott Moe “Warren gave urban Saskatchewan a strong voice by taking a riding long held by the NDP. It’s been a pleasure being able to work alongside you in the house and on behalf of all your colleagues, we wish you well in what comes next. Thank you, Warren.”

For the 2020 Provincial Election, 22 candidates have been nominated.

The next nomination date is set for February 4, 2019 in the constituency of Moose Jaw Wakamow.

- 30 –